Chorizo and Halloumi flatbreads with harissa yoghurt and homemade slaw

flatbreadsEvery Friday my work friends and I tend to go to KERB, the street food market in Kings Cross. The range of food there is impressive, i’ve eaten everything from buttermilk chicken, mexican tacos and indian spiced lamb wraps to gyoza, sourdough pizzas and slow cooked ribs. One of my recent purchases from the stall French and Grace inspired me and I decided to recreate it at home for a group of about 20 friends at my birthday drinks. I can’t remember exactly what was in the wraps I bought from KERB that day but my replica seemed to go down well. Here is a rough recipe for about 5 flatbreads:

  • 1 red cabbage
  • 3 carrots
  • 5 chorizo cooking sausages
  • 1.5 pack of Halloumi
  • 1 pack of 5 flatbreads
  • fresh mint
  • olive oil
  • lemon juice
  • mustard
  • 1 pot of harrissa
  • 1 pot of greek yoghurt

Chop the chorizo sausages in half and slice the halloumi in about 1 cm thick slices. We cooked on the barbecue but can easily be done in a frying pan.

Whilst these are cooking, chop the red cabbage and grate the carrots. Dress in mustard, lemon juice and olive oil and scatter over chopped fresh mint. Mix the harissa and the yoghurt. Once the chorizo and halloumi is cooked put 1 chorizo sausage and a couple of slices of halloumi in a flatbread, add the slaw and dress with the yoghurt. Enjoy!

Recently I’ve really noticed the impact on my bank account of buying lunches out and by the end of the month i’m always searching for satisfying yet cheap lunches. Recently I filled a flatbread with houmous and the homemade slaw above with lots of fresh parsley and it was delicious. Cost me about £5 for the week instead of £5 a day.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment